Project333 – Capsule wardrobe challenge

Happy Monday, Everyone!

Welcome to my Project 333 Blog Post.

Saying it’s a challenge is a bit of an understatement, especially in Ireland. Trying to curate a capsule wardrobe with just 33 items, in our climate, is nearly impossible!ย When it’s not raining it’s raining, or raining with the occasional bit of sunshine, followed by rain and yes, sometimes even snow. All in the space of an hour! So I’ve been following the rules of the project 333 challenge loosely. In other words, instead of including my basic long sleeve tops (Thermals etc.) or outerwear (Winter Scarves, jackets) I’ve decided to only feature the items that will be a part of my wardrobe for the whole 3 months.

‘So why start a capsule wardrobe?’ I hear you ask. Well…

 

IMG_7793
The comfiest, sexiest, maternity dress ever!

When I found out I was pregnant, I’d came across a blog that recommended sorting through your wardrobe and removing any item of clothing that wouldn’t fit you past the three month mark. Anything that didn’t stretch or that wasn’t comfortable, I packed it away or donated it. (I was ruthless when it came to giving away clothes)

Thankfully I was so *bloated 8 weeks into my pregnancy that I looked like I was about 5 months pregnant anyway, soย  It was very helpful when it came to sorting through everything.
*This will calm down at about 10-12 weeks, don’t worry ๐Ÿ˜‰

So with my wardrobe cleared and after investing in some key maternity pieces, like the dress above, along with a few donated maternity tops and jeans (Thanks Julie ;*) I practically lived with a capsule wardrobe throughout my pregnancy.

And it was awesome!

Every morning I’d go to my wardrobe and be able to choose something that I knew would fit me well, look good and be comfortable. I saved so much time and energy by not fretting about stuff fitting. It was great for boosting my confidence in my every changing body.

After Finn was born, I kept up the capsule wardrobe way of life and used the lack of pregnant belly as an excuse to invest in some more key pieces. ๐Ÿ˜‰ These replaced the maternity wear that I’d packed away and also substituted for the clothes that still didn’t fit me.
Once again I had a small range of clothes that were comfortable, fit well and made me feel confident in my postpartum body.

So here I am 11 months on and slowly but surely I’m fitting back into a lot of my pre- pregnancy wardrobe. I got a couple of things altered to fit my new shape a bit better and I’ve also given away more stuff. Over the past few months, I’ve come to realise that I will never be size 6 again, nor do I want to be! It’d take a LOT of effort andย  I’ve more important things to enjoy, like, you know, my baby.

IMG_3693
Hello, Finn! Yes, you are awesome! โค

So what is the Project 333 Challenge?
In a nutshell, you take 33 items from your wardrobe and wear them for an entire season (3 months) The aim is to help you be more organised, save time, boost your confidence and to be more with less.

I opted for a mix of everything, from dresses/skirts that could be worn with or without tights, low top DC’s and knee high boots to blazers and leather jackets. Throw in a few accessories, some cosy jumpers and half a dozen pairs of jeans and you’re all set. Sounds so simple! But yeah, It’s harder than it looks!

Like I said. I didn’t include any basics (long sleeve thermals etc.) belts, or (Winter) scarves, but you could add them to your accessories if you’d like. You don’t count underwear or pyjamas and you’re only allowed to wear workout gear to work out.

The Spring /Summer ’16 Pantone palette consists of a lot of pastels as well as a couple of eye catching pinks. I don’t really do a lot of pink, so this was another challenge I was looking forward to ๐Ÿ™‚

01en-pantone-fashion-color-report-2016-spring-summer

A lot of spring/summer trends this year consist of 70’s inspired suede, flamenco frills, floral prints and marled knits.

When I was prepping for my spring capsule wardrobe I invested in a few light jumpers that would work great for layering. As we’re into March now and still clinging onto the last bit of winter, layers are a must!

But I also included some chunky knits because, lets face it. It’s cold!


Stripes never go out of style and are great for any season.
I also added a floral pront shirt as well as a classic chambray shirt and a peach satin blouse.

I’m a huge fan of a good pair of jeans. You can’t beat the confidence boost that a great pair of jeans create. Jeans shopping is one of the most boring activities on this planet, but when you find that pair that make you feel like a million dollahs, it makes it all worth it.


I added a couple of skirts for those rainy days. Tights dry so much quicker than jeans and fleece lined tights are the best invention ever! So WARM!!! Add a pop of colour with an awesome skirt and a leather jacket to add a bit of edge and you’re dressed for the day! ๐Ÿ™‚

The skater skirt below is one that I got adjusted after my pregnancy. I got the waistband taken off and got it replaced with a plain black elastic waist instead.
I’m really happy with it and it fits great.

The Jaquard skirt was a gift from my sister. It featured in another blog post here.

My mother in law bought me this dress a couple of years ago and it’s one of my favourites!
I even wore it until I was 7 months pregnant! It fits great and you can’t go wrong with a little black dress. Any colour looks great with it ๐Ÿ™‚

The green and yellow dress is from Zara. You can read about it here

A black leather jacket is a staple for any wardrobe. Ross bought me this for my birthday a couple of years ago and I love it. There’s nothing like a leather jacket to make you feel instantly bad ass. ๐Ÿ˜›

The tan blazer is versatile enough to go with a multitude of outfits and it’s playing a big part on the street style scene! This one belonged to my sister and she picked it up in Dunnes Stores. It’s lined with a floral patterned cotton and is lovely and warm.

Shoes, shoes, shoes. Like I mentioned above, I tried to cover every type of weather. I have nude heels and my trusty black ankle boots, tan Chelsea boots, my knee high leather Clarks boots and a pair of flat top DC’s.


These bags are great and they’ve featured in a number of blog posts already. They hold all the essentials.
The necklace goes with a lot of outfits and the colours match the spring palette for 2016. The scarf again so many colours in it, it’ll jazz up any outfit.

So as you can see, I tried to cover every type of weather and event over the spring months. I could have added more accessories if I’d left out a pair of shoes or a pair of jeans, but to be honest, I don’t usually wear a lot of jewellery, a few sentimental pieces and that’s about it and sentimental jewellery isn’t included in the list of 33 items.

So there you have it.

Hopefully you’ll find the links in this blog post helpful.
Project 333 has definitely helped me stay confident in my changing body and it’s saved me time and money. I’m not sure if it’s since becoming a mother (I’d rather buy clothes for my baby) or whether I’m now content with what I have, but I now walk into a shop and I don’t feel the want or the need to buy anything as I have everything I need in my 33 items.
Highly recommended for you budding minimalist’s out there

– A x

Leave a Reply

